Have You Considered Scanners, CBs and Ham Radio for Your SHTF Strategy?

hamradioLet me begin by telling you that I am not an expert on Ham radio and like many other people I am currently considering a purchase. I think most of us have a general understanding of scanners and CB radio, but Ham radio is a different story. Why would I consider this purchase? Well, those of us who have been watching government developments and international news are remaining open-minded to a SHTF  (“Stuff” Hits The Fan) scenario.

I want to tell you why you need to consider this strategy and then I will share a couple of short videos so you can start to learn along with me. In the case of National Security Emergency our government has the power to seize control over all communications including cell phones and internet.  President Obama signed an executive order last summer to grant this. Let’s not dwell on the conspiracies, but rather look at the possibilities.

In the case of a National Security Emergency (which could be many things including martial law, invasions, famine,financial collapse, nuclear launches, natural disasters, etc.) a Ham Radio or CB may be your only form of communication. Whether you believe that our President is the enemy or a great Patriot is beside the point. If a foreign power launches strikes on this country the government can and probably will take control over communications. Why? Because the security of the country comes first and government communication would have priority over a conversation between you and Aunt Patty.

Many of us are preparing for our belief that the enemy is within, but I am telling you that you don’t have to believe in government corruption to have use for CB or Ham Radio. I am going to turn it over to the experts now. Like I said, we will be learning together. Let’s start with some basics about Ham Radio:

 

Here is a video entitled “Top 10 SHTF Communications:”

 

This is the primer for what I am hoping will be a series of articles over selection, uses, and strategies for bug out situations. None of us wants to believe that a SHTF scenario will happen, but in case it does it is wise to be prepared. I don’t like writing about things that I am not knowledgeable about, but I think it is very important that we all start talking about this, while there is still time. If you are an experienced user, we would appreciate any tips you might offer us in the comments below.

“The will to win is important but the will to prepare is vital.” -Joe Paterno

Follow The D.C. Clothesline on Facebook

 

 

About Dean Garrison

Dean Garrison is a father of five, who faithfully pursues the American Dream. In the greatest country on earth there are hypocrites and liars abound, and he tries to expose them one at a time. It's time to get rid of the servant leaders who treat us as slaves.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Have You Considered Scanners, CBs and Ham Radio for Your SHTF Strategy?

  1. Jon says:

    Thanks for the info,very interesting and very important to know.This is one area I haven’t given much thought to but I sure will now just in case SHTF. Again Thank-you for your time not only on this post but on all your postings.God Bless You

  2. Joe Kelly says:

    Hey I’ve been following you on Facebook for a little bit. Love the blog.

  3. Ed says:

    I’m a HAM and teach anyone that asks me. They won’t get all my radios, or guns, or food God willing.

  4. RockHard says:

    If you don’t want to be found, ham radios, or any other type of communication equipment is a bad idea; the moment you start talking you become a target and if you’re not familiar with triangulation, go ahead and start communicating when the shtf.

    • True. This article gave me the CB bug. But everything I read says they can find your location within 50 feet in 6 seconds. I guess if you had a one word at a time code system it could still work

    • n0njy says:

      Not entirely true. Transmitting can get you located yes. But there is the “receive” side of things to collect intelligence (information) about what is going on.

  5. Lordchamp says:

    Yes, locating you can be easy depending on where you are located. Remember those type of resources are not widespread though particularly in more rural locations. If you keep your wattage low, and transmissions short, the chances of being located are relatively small. In my opinion, well worth the intel you can gather and pass on.

  6. Carl says:

    I let my license expire in 2002. I’ve been thinking along this angle for a little while. I think that if you limit communications to short durations with 2M hand held radios, you would be less of a target. If you start using the base stations with lots of wattage and longer bandwidths, you will increase their chances of locating you.

  7. chipspeaking says:

    You cannot just go “buy” an Amateur Radio and use it, they are strictly licensed, and if you begin operating on Amateur frequencies, the Hams will track you down and have the FCC come calling, they will fine & arrest you and confiscate the gear.

    The good part is it is easy to get licensed, no Morse code is required any longer, and the test are given rather regularly. You can check with the ARRL (http://www.arrl.org) for tests in your area, and you can practice/study online at http://www.qrz.com

    Please do not suggest that people just buy a ham radio and use it. It is a license only radio service unlike CB which is unlicensed.

    John Mood AA4PC, Amateur Extra Class Licensee.

    • n0njy says:

      Absolutely correct. You can purchase and LISTEN though. Don’t ever use it without a license UNLESS it’s a life and death emergency… then you won’t get in to trouble.

  8. n0njy says:

    I have. I’m a ham. I have a site about it I just started. (I AM an expert on the subject!)
    http://patriotsamateurradio.wordpress.com/

  9. n0njy says:

    Reblogged this on Amateur Radio for Patriots and commented:
    Another person’s take on SHTF communications. Apparently, we’re all thinking similarily – and roughly thinking at the same time. Note the date is the 7th. I just started my own blog, but I’ve been posting stuff like this on my other site for years. Thanks to Dean Garrison.

Leave a Reply

